How to change your resolution when you get an error in game

Get Help, Tips & Tutorials on Gaming

How to change your resolution when you get an error in game

Postby Ziltoid » Sat Jan 07, 2012 4:18 pm

I was having problems changing my screen resolution in game, so I looked on google for a tutorial and thought "let's put it here"

Create a shortcut to ET.exe in your wolfet installation directory. Right Click on the shortcut and click properties, On the Shortcut TAB, Edit the "Target:" field to look like the following code.

This is for running 1920x1080 with a field of view of 115 degrees.

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\ET.exe" +r_mode "-1" +r_customwidth "1920" +r_customheight "1080" +cg_fov "115" +set com_hunkmegs "256" +vid_restart



The best resolution you can set is the highest resolution for your monitor. You can find this by going to display properties and seeing what resolution you have currently set. If your resolution is lower than the highest then you may just want to use that resolution. You can also slide the bar to the right and find the highest resolution.

For Windows XP - Right Click on the desktop and click properties then go to the settings tab.
For Windows Vista - Right Click on the desktop and click Personalize. Then Click Display Settings.
For Windows 7 - Right Click on the desktop and click Screen Resolution.

Edit these values to the ones you found in display properties in windows. For instance if you have 1360x768 as your highest resolution for your monitor make these values look like this
+r_customwidth "1360"
+r_customheight "768"

Now the Field of View is the angle of vision you can see in game. 110-115 is good for 16:9 or 16:10 displays. If you have a 4:3 resolution the 90-100 would be better. Dont set this above 120 or lower than 90. Punkbuster will kick you if its too high or too low.
+cg_fov "115"

If you set the resolution too high for your monitor you will get an error like this when you launch the game shortcut:

GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem



Here are some other examples:

If you want 1920x1200 then make it look like this.

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\ET.exe" +r_mode "-1" +r_customwidth "1920" +r_customheight "1200" +cg_fov "115" +set com_hunkmegs "256" +vid_restart

If your running a laptop and your max resolution is 1360x768 the make it look like this.

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\ET.exe" +r_mode "-1" +r_customwidth "1360" +r_customheight "768" +cg_fov "115" +set com_hunkmegs "256" +vid_restart
Image

~~GOD OF MASTURBATION~~

#MattEgeFennyWorstLT

I used to have nice signatures, then Photobucket went full retard.
User avatar
Ziltoid
.
 
Posts: 2981
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 5:24 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Home-Game: Wolfenstein Enemy Territory
Wolfenstein ET Name: #ET|Ziltoid
Steam Name: SaltboxMetal
Clan Wars: 0

Re: How to change your resolution when you get an error in g

Postby Straw » Sun Jan 08, 2012 1:07 am

Nice topic ;)
User avatar
Straw
.
 
Posts: 8449
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:35 pm
Location: France, Laval
Home-Game: Wolfenstein Enemy Territory
Favourite Weapon: Multiband Compressor
Wolfenstein ET Name: #ET|Straw|
Steam Name: Mansikka
Clan Wars: 1


Return to Gaming Help

  • Advertisement